PERSONAL LIFE

Wow, the fact that you're reading this means you must be really interested! On this page, I will try to outline some 'points of interest' of my life, to hopefully give you a basic idea of who I am and what I stand for. Feel free to leave at any time.

I was born on April 29th, 1994 in Turnhout, Belgium. So far, so good.

In 1998, my mother passed away. Growing up with a single dad who worked a lot thought me to be independent and self-sufficient. Later on, in 2003, I got a half-brother, Isaac.

On Christmas day 2001, I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes. 'Diabetes mellitus type 1' is an incurable autoimmune disease that results in high blood sugar, because the body cannot create enough of the hormone insulin. That's why I am now insulin dependent: I use an insulin pump to inject insulin every time I eat or when my blood sugar levels get too high. If left untreated, type 1 diabetes can cause severe long term damage, but as long as I calculate my insulin doses correctly, I can eat whatever I like, whenever I like (yes, even sugar!).

In my childhood I had a lot of hobbies, including but not limited to a youth movement (Chiro), football, basketball, badminton, fencing, reading, the drawing academy and acting. As an 'actor', the production I am most proud of is 'Geen Wonder Dat Ik Ween' (GWDIW). GWDIW was a co-production between Kaaimantheater, a theatre company for children and adolescents, and Theater Stap, a theatre company for people with a mental disability (I was a part of the Kaaiman theatre company, in case you were wondering). With GWDIW, we even crossed state borders to perform at the No Limits Theatre Festival in Berlin! Click here to read more about it.

I started working student jobs as soon as it was allowed, at the age of 15. After one summer at the local supermarket, I started working at the movies, where I eventually became supervisor. For more information, I refer you to the page 'Experience'. 

In 2015, I used part of my savings to buy a camper van together with my cousin. 'Lana', that's what we called her, was a 1999 Fiat Ducato motor home that drove us many miles and gave us some of my best holiday memories. Late 2019 we decided to sell her again, because our working lives started to get in the way. Soon after I was handed down a tiny 1974 caravan from my grandparents, which I'm in the process of restoring.

In 2020, I bought a 100-year-old house in Mechelen, closer to work and my girlfriend's family. After a complete renovation, we are living there since the end of 2021.